The Merit Award is presented each year to a Member of the Institute who has achieved excellence in interior design practice, contributed to the development of the Institute and/or in the wider field of design education. The nominee should have a proven track record of interior design projects, have made a positive contribution to the BIID and be well respected in the industry. 

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Merit Award which will be presented at the BIID AGM in June 2019. Please email with the name of the BIID Registered Interior Designer you would like to nominate by midday on Friday 12th April 2019.

Past winners:

2018: Janet Jones

2017: Dean Keyworth

2016: Noriko Sawayama

2015: Rosemary Hamilton

2014: Jenny Gibbs

2013: Iris Dunbar

2012: Lori Pinkerton-Rolet

2011: Gordon Lindsay

2010: Mary Fox Linton

2008: Diana Yakeley

2007: Christopher Vane Percy

2006: Jacqueline Duncan