You are here:


The BIID gives out several awards to recognise the achievements of those who have achieved interior design excellence and those who have contributed to the development of the profession.

Honorary Fellowship

Paul Smith

The British Institute of Interior Design (BIID) introduced Honorary Fellowships in 2012 to recognise those who have had a profound impact on the development and success of the interior design profession. We believe it is important to show our gratitude to those who do not meet our membership criteria yet inspire, enrich and influence the interior design profession in significant ways. These figures come from a range of different fields, including of other design disciplines, such as fashion, graphic or product design, professional bodies, photography and landscape. Find out more about previous winners.

Merit Award

The Merit Award is presented each year to a Member of the Institute who has achieved excellence in interior design practice, contributed to the development of the Institute and/or in the wider field of design education. The nominee should have a proven track record of interior design projects, have made a positive contribution to the BIID and be well respected in the industry. 

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Merit Award which will be presented at the BIID AGM in June 2019. Please email with the name of the BIID Registered Interior Designer you would like to nominate by midday on Friday 12th April 2019.

Past winners:

2019: Karin Verzariu 2018: Janet Jones, 2017: Dean Keyworth, 2016: Noriko Sawayama, 2015: Rosemary Hamilton, 2014: Jenny Gibbs, 2013: Iris Dunbar, 2012: Lori Pinkerton-Rolet, 2011: Gordon Lindsay, 2010: Mary Fox Linton, 2008: Diana Yakeley, 2007: Christopher Vane Percy, 2006: Jacqueline Duncan

CPD Award

The annual Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Award is given to the Institute member who has accrued the highest number of CPD hours in the past year and shown an outstanding commitment to their own professional development.

Past winners: 2018/2019: Nicola Burt 2017/2018: Martin Nealon 2016/2017: Mary Barber Fray 2015/2016: Savana Al Khudhairi 2014/2015: Rowena Vaughan 2013/2014: Caroline Palk 2012/2013: Katy Graham 2011/2012: Jamie Hempsall 2010/2011: Caroline Palk 2009/2010: Omeima Osman

Take a look at our CPD Providers Directory  

Student Design Challenge

The BIID Student Design Challenge is an annual, day long competition for final year university students of interior design and interior architecture. Universities are represented by their team, who have just 6 hours to turn a brief, given to them on the day, into a cohesive design for a panel of judges.

The stakes are high; only three teams can place, and they have only five minutes to present their designs to the judges. Find our more and get involved.