You are here:


For generations we have helped interior designers to build their business and created a community of like minded professionals.

The organisation was founded in 1965 as the Interior Decorators and Designers Association (IDDA). In 2001, the IDDA was amalgamated with the globally recognised International Interior Design Association UK Chapter (IIDA), to form the British Interior Design Association (BIDA).

The Secretary of State recognised the BIDA as the pre-eminent body in the field in 2009 and granted Institute status so it became the British Institute of Interior Design. In 2015, the BIID celebrated 50 years as an organisation dedicated to the interior design profession, making it the UK's oldest professional body representing solely interior designers.

BIID Registered Interior Designer®

In 2016, the BIID applied to protect the professional title BIID Registered Interior Designer®, seeing it as a way for clients, designers and other built environment professionals to identify interior designers who have met the BIID’s rigorous professional standards.

In the UK the three most commonly used terms are Interior Decorator, Interior Designer and Interior Architect with higher education courses offered in Interior Architecture, Interior Design, Interior Decoration, and Spatial Design. In the UK it is illegal for designers to call themselves Interior Architects unless they are fully qualified architects and registered with the Architects Registration Board (ARB) but there are no agreed national standard definitions of ‘interior designer’ or ‘interior decorator’.

The British Institute of Interior Design adopts the International Federation of Interior Architects/Designers (IFI), definition of an interior designer.

Their definition is: Qualified by education, experience and applied skills, the professional Interior Architect/Designer accepts the following responsibilities: Identify, research and creatively solve problems pertaining to the function and quality of the interior environment; Perform services relating to interior spaces including programming, design analysis, space planning, aesthetics and inspection of work on site, using specialized knowledge of interior construction, building systems and components, building regulations, equipment, materials and furnishings; Prepare schematics, drawings and documents relating to the design of interior space, in order to enhance the quality of life and protect the health, safety, welfare and environment of the public.

The BIID translated this definition to a professional standard that underpins BIID Registered Interior Designer®. This means that in order to become registered, designers must:

  • Have 6 years of education and work experience
  • Hold current Professional Indemnity and Public Liability insurances
  • Complete a Professional Review evidencing understanding and capability in all 8 of our Core Competencies. 

Once a designer has become a BIID Registered Interior Designer® they must adhere to the BIID’s Code of Conduct and annual Continuing Professional Development requirement to remain registered. In addition to being able to describe themselves as a ‘BIID Registered Interior Designer®’ individuals are able to use the post nominal RegID after their name. The title is also a registered trademark and as such use of the logo and post nominal will be strictly controlled. BIID Registered Interior Designer® is a symbol that an individual has met the highest standard of professional competence set by the government recognise Institute for the interior design profession.

Become a Member

  • Raise your Profile
  • Build your Network
  • Update your Knowledge

Past Presidents

Since its establishment in 1965, the Institute has been led by a distinguished roster of some of the UK's most accomplished interior designers.

Lindsey Rendall (2021 - 2022), Lester Bennett (2020 - 2021), Harriet Forde (2019 - 2020), Gilly Craft (2018 - 2019), Charles Leon (2017 - 2018), Susie Rumbold (2016 - 2017), Daniel Hopwood (2014 - 2016), Sue Timney (2012 - 2014), Diana Yakeley (2011 - 2012), Jenny Gibbs (2010 - 2011);

Iris Dunbar (2008 - 2010), Lori Pinkerton-Rolet (2007 - 2008), Dean Keyworth (2006 - 2007), Diana Yakeley (2005 - 2006), Annie Stevens (2004 - 2005), Christopher Vane Percy (2003 - 2004), Joanna McCrae (2002 - 2003), Simon Cavelle (2000 - 2002), Gordon Lindsay (1998 - 2000);

Rosemary Hamilton (1996 - 1998), George Cooper (1994 - 1996), Timothy Hammond (1989 - 1994), Frederick Keeble (1967 - 1989), Godfrey Bonsack (1965 - 1967).